Punk Rock What?

As the semester is flying by I find myself in the library constantly working on this paper or this project. I almost always have my headphones in and I listen to Slacker Radio, which is almost the same Pandora but in my opinion, it’s better because it rarely deviates from the kind of music that I want to listen to. For this late post, I figured I would cover my 5 favorite bands and my current favorite song from them.

1. The Maine

The-Maine

These guys are my all time favorite and I am completely devoted to them. I have gone to their last three shows without missing a beat. The first was in Minneapolis when they opened for Taking Back Sunday, which is another one of my fave bands, the second was their own show in Minneapolis at The Varsity Theater. The third time I saw them was last fall in Chicago and it was the best trip ever! Not only am I in love with their music I also think that they are fantastic to their fans, they always seem to be doing something special and engaging with their fans and I think that is the best thing that a band could do. For me, it is really hard to pick my favorite song from them so I will just share their big hit Into Your Arms.

2. A Day to Remember

1042164464_l

I think I found out about this band originally through Pandora but once I started listening I couldn’t stop. I have never seen them in concert but I would love to I think it would be an awesome experience. These guys are a little but different from The Maine because they are kind of screamo but I enjoy it and their lyrics so much. They have just released a new cd and are going on tour soon but due to school and whatnot I will not be able to go to their show in Minneapolis so hopefully, I can catch them again at some sort of rock festival. Of all of their songs, I think my current fave is Have Faith In Me.

3. Mayday Parade

imgMayday-Parade2

I’m pretty sure these guys came up on my Pandora before but I really got into them after I went to their concert that The Maine opened up for. I feel like there is so much emotion in their music and I absorb every minute and every word of it. This is the setting for my Slacker Radio station that gives me so much great music and it also fills up my iTunes. I honestly wish I would have known more of their song when I saw them in concert because they put on a fantastic show and they truly have amazing lyrics. This one isn’t too hard to pick out my favorite song because I am always listening to When I Get Home You’re So Dead.

4. Three Days Grace

Three-Days-Grace1

I have been with this band since I was like 12 and they dropped their self-titled album Three Days Grace. It was amazing and they have never failed in providing me with quality music. Once again I have yet to see these guys in concert but I feel like it would be a great show filled with moshing. They have put out four albums including their album that was released last fall. They are currently going through some problems as they lost their lead singer but they will still be touring with Matt Walst from My Darkest Days as their lead singer. I love their new single Chalk Outline which I recommend readers to listen to but my favorite song is a little less known called Lost In You

5. Fall Out Boy

b185_Fall-Out-Boy-band-music

Of course, I’ve been listening to Fall Out Boy since my preteen years and still love listening to them. Their music is always so upbeat to me and can make me happy about almost anything. I would really like to see them in concert. I have tried to go to a few different rock festivals that they have played but I never seem to make it. Their lyrics are so wild and out there sometimes it is hard not to like them. I would pick one of my favorite songs from one of their older albums but their new single is completely different from what I’m used to but for some reason, I still love it and would like to share My Dreams Know What You Did in the Dark.

As you can see these bands have a lot in common especially the long and the swoopy hair in the front and the same clothing style and I enjoy every bit of it. I prefer lyrics that are thought out and hold meaning especially ones with words you don’t always see in songs that are more mainstream. I could have included so much more bands like Panic! at the Disco, Paramore, Red Jumpsuit Apparatus and Sleeping With Sirens but those will have to wait for another day.

~ by Sydney Erickson on March 30, 2013.

Leave a comment